A reply from Senator Tammy Duckworth for Wolves!


Dear Neighbor,

Thank you for contacting me about the gray wolf’s endangered species status. I appreciate you taking the time to make me aware of your concerns on this important matter.

In 1973, the gray wolf population in the continental United States was near extinction. Through years of careful management, the gray wolf population steadily increased. In 2003, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Services (FWS) determined that several subtypes of gray wolves were sufficiently recovered and delisted them as an endangered species. However, two separate Federal Courts found FWS violated the Endangered Species Act (ESA) in removing the gray wolf from the list of endangered species, and FWS reversed course. Subsequent attempts to delist the gray wolf have also been found to violate the ESA.

Effective animal conservation policies must be based on scientific facts and real world data. That is why I voted against the Newhouse Amendment last Congress, which would have prohibited FWS from listing gray wolves as an endangered species. Rest assured, I am committed to supporting responsible conservation policies that protect threatened species, such as the Gray Wolf. Congress should not interfere with FWS’ ability to make endangered species listing determinations on the basis of science.

Thank you again for contacting me on this important issue. If you would like more information on my work in the Senate, please visit my website at www.duckworth.senate.gov. You can find upcoming events in the state, sign up for my newsletter, access my voting record and see what I am doing to address today’s most important issues. I hope that you will continue to share your views and opinions with me and let me know whenever I may be of assistance to you.

Sincerely,

The Honorable Tammy Duckworth
United States Senator

uc?id=0B7HP7Jwutpr_eV80dGg0a0dDYWM&export=download

Leave a Reply

